Water heaters
Rheem ProTerra Hybrid Heat Pump Water Heater, 50 gal
Prices are the equipment only — the appliance, before install labour. Every product in this catalogue currently has at least one real, seller-observed equipment price (see the SKU verification and price observation notes on each product). Get contractor quotes for the install itself, especially for anything needing new electrical circuits or condensate drainage.
The default heat pump water heater for most US households: 50 gallons, UEF 3.75, widely stocked and widely serviced.
Our take
A heat pump water heater is the single highest-return efficiency upgrade available to a household on electric water heating — it uses roughly a quarter of the electricity of a resistance tank, and the ProTerra is the volume seller for good reason. The catch is physical, not financial: it needs about 700 cubic feet of surrounding air, it cools and dehumidifies the space it sits in, and it makes noise. In a basement that is a bonus. In a hallway closet it is a problem.
Best for
Households replacing an electric resistance tank, with the unit sited in a basement, garage or utility room in a mild or moderate climate.
Watch out for
Installed in an unconditioned space in a cold climate it will spend winter on resistance backup and save you nothing. Check the minimum ambient temperature against where you actually intend to put it.
What sellers are actually charging
The lowest in-stock, full-equipment price we've seen is $1,911, at Home Depot, seen 2026-08-16. Every listing from the last 30 days, newest first, is below — prices change, click through to check before you act on any of them.
| Seller | What you get | Price | Stock | Seen |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Home Depot
big box retailer |
equipment system | $1,911 | in stock | 2026-08-16 |
Equipment price is not installed price. The listings above are what the hardware costs. Installation — labour, electrical, refrigerant lines, permits, removing the old system — is typically a similar amount again, and varies more between contractors than between brands. Where we have an installed figure it is labelled as such and comes from someone who actually installs.
Where the spec sheet and owners disagree
Sound Db — datasheet 49 vs reported 68dB(A)
The datasheet gives Sound level as 49dB(A). An owner reports measuring 68dB(A) in real installations — roughly 39% higher. We publish both figures and let you judge; the specification is not wrong so much as measured under conditions your installation will not reproduce.
What owners and installers report
Collected from trade forums, owner communities and video reviews. Every report links to the original. We synthesise and quote briefly — we don't republish other people's writing.
Reliability and failures
What breaks, when, and how often — from people several years in.
Thin evidence — too few independent reports to call this a pattern. Shown because it may still be worth asking your contractor about.
A CPSC SaferProducts.gov incident report (#20251206-2B6CA-2147325844, filed Jan 13 2026) describes an electrical short with popping sounds and a large spark, plus a separate reported incident describing a unit that reportedly exploded and caused an electrical fire. This is a single filed incident report — CPSC has not opened a recall as of Aug 22, 2026 — so treat it as a monitor flag, not a resolved recall. The report names model XE50T10H45U1, which differs by two characters from this catalogue's XE50T10HS45U0; it appears to be a closely related running-production variant of the same ProTerra 50gal platform, not confirmed identical.
“popping sounds and a large spark” — forum participant, 2026-01-13
Rheem ProTerra XE50T10H45U1 Water Heater Incidents Raise Electrical Safety Concerns · CPSC SaferProducts.gov filings · 2026-02-04 · read it in context
An owner of an 80-gallon Rheem Professional hybrid reports no regrets after two years and preferred the contractor-channel model partly for service access.
“Two years later I don't have any regrets” — user-2310254, Jul 14, 2020 09:55am
Reported on the ProTerra Hybrid line; size not stated — included here because it's the same family and counts toward the totals above.
https://www.greenbuildingadvisor.com/question/choosing-heat-pump-water-heater · GreenBuildingAdvisor Q&A · Jul 14, 2020 09:55am · read it in context
Noise in real installations
What owners report hearing, versus the manufacturer's rated sound level. Rated figures are measured under controlled conditions that rarely match a real installation.
Thin evidence — too few independent reports to call this a pattern. Shown because it may still be worth asking your contractor about.
The same generational noise complaint is reported across ProTerra tank sizes, not only the 80-gallon.
“How could a company like Rheem f this up so badly” — ericpanderson homeowner, 2024-06-23
Reported measurement: 68dB(A)
Have folks had luck replacing their noisy Rheem HPWH water heaters? · GreenBuildingAdvisor Q&A · 2024-02-29 · read it in context
A second, independent owner report of audible noise on the 50-gallon ProTerra, from a different GBA thread than the existing noise claim -- milder than the compressor-noise complaints elsewhere ('a high-pitched tone'), but confirms it isn't a one-off report.
“I purchased a 50 gal Proterra from HD in Nov 2020 for $799... I have noticed somewhat of a high-pitched tone while running, but my geothermal heat pumps are just as noisy” — westshorenc homeowner, 2021-08-31
Home Depot's Halt on Rheem Hybrid Water Heaters · GreenBuildingAdvisor Q&A · 2021-08-31 · read it in context
Running cost as experienced
Bills owners report after switching, against what they expected.
Thin evidence — too few independent reports to call this a pattern. Shown because it may still be worth asking your contractor about.
Owner in a 60-70F Colorado basement reports 9-12 kWh/day for 2 people mostly in Energy Saver mode -- higher than expected -- prompting other owners in the thread to recommend Heat-Pump-only mode instead of Energy Saver.
“With 2 people in the house for the last 4 days we're seeing consumption rates reported by the app between 9 kWh and 12 kWh a day” — embiggenator homeowner, 2023-12-01
Rheem ProTerra 50 Gal HPWH Poor Performance · Reddit · 2023-12-01 · read it in context
An off-grid owner reports that an 80-gallon Rheem hybrid used for a year draws very little power in heat-pump operation.
“hardly registers as a draw” — CougarW, May 02, 2021 03:19am
Reported on the ProTerra Hybrid line; size not stated — included here because it's the same family and counts toward the totals above.
https://www.greenbuildingadvisor.com/question/sanden-sanco2-vs-hybrid-heat-pump-water-heater · GreenBuildingAdvisor Q&A · 2021-05-01 · read it in context
Controls and compatibility
Thermostat integration, communicating-system lock-in, firmware, and whether the equipment achieves its rated staging in practice. On tankless water heaters this also covers ignition delay and the 'cold water sandwich' effect.
Thin evidence — too few independent reports to call this a pattern. Shown because it may still be worth asking your contractor about.
Two independent owners in the same thread report the app-based mode scheduling is unreliable -- one had it silently stop following its schedule, the other had it revert to a random time zone -- both abandoned the schedule for a fixed manual mode.
“The scheduling feature is unreliable and broken. Mine also decided it wanted to be in a random different time zone” — diezel_dave homeowner, 2023-12-01
Rheem ProTerra 50 Gal HPWH Poor Performance · Reddit · 2023-12-01 · read it in context
Sources are linked so you can verify any of this yourself. We don't mirror content — Amazon in particular permits no republication of review text, so where we use retailer data we show the aggregate rating and link out. How we collect and weight this →
Compare against
Rheem ProTerra Hybrid Heat Pump Water Heater, 80 gal
80-gallon version of the ProTerra, UEF 4.0 — the highest efficiency in the mainstream heat pump water heater market.
GE Profile GeoSpring Smart Hybrid Heat Pump Water Heater, 50 gal
GE's flagship heat pump water heater, relaunched under the Profile line with FlexCAPACITY mixing and Wi-Fi control. ENERGY STAR-certified at UEF 4.50 -- the highest efficiency figure in this catalogue at any size.
GE Profile GeoSpring Smart Hybrid Heat Pump Water Heater, 80 gal
80-gallon version of the same Profile GeoSpring Smart Hybrid platform as the 50-gallon model -- same UEF 4.50, larger first-hour rating.
A. O. Smith ProLine XE Voltex AL (HPTS-66) Heat Pump Water Heater, 66 gal
66-gallon heat pump water heater with a UEF of 4.02 -- among the highest in our water heater set, just behind GE's Profile GeoSpring Smart Hybrid at 4.50. Sold under A. O. Smith's 'ProLine XE Voltex AL / Smart Hybrid' line — a different, retail-exclusive 'Signature Series' name is used for a different model-number family at Lowe's, so don't cross-shop the names.
Before you buy this
Ask for the first-hour rating, not just tank size, and check it against your household's simultaneous demand — showers and laundry at the same time — rather than headcount alone. If it's a heat pump water heater, confirm the room has enough air volume (or a duct kit) that it won't spend winter on resistance backup, and that there's a real route for condensate, not just a nearby floor drain. Confirm the panel has spare 240V capacity. And if you're removing a gas unit that shared a flue with a furnace, ask what happens to that flue once your water heater's draft is gone — an orphaned flue can backdraft.